Greg Kingston - Family Nurse Practitioner

Greg Kingston is a nurse practitioner with KentuckyCare in Paducah. He’s a “gear head” who is proud of his children and cares deeply about people - and that’s what makes him so good at his job. You won’t catch him outside without his sunscreen either! iLove KentuckyCare because of people like Greg Kingston.

We’re pleased to meet you, Greg. Tell us about yourself…

I was born and raised on a farm in Kuttawa. I am the youngest of 10 children. I attended 12 years of school at Lyon County.

I grew up in a tobacco patch and hay field - in fact I grew my last crop of tobacco when I was a senior in high school. I decided that summer I was going to college so I did not have to work in a tobacco patch any longer. 

My first healthcare job was in a local nursing home as a nurse’s aide, and that's where I fell in love with taking care of people. 

Tell us about your family…

I am divorced and have two grown children of whom I am very proud. My daughter, Chelsea, is 26 and works as a Registered Nurse while attending graduate school to become a Nurse Practitioner. She is engaged to be married in October 2017. 

My son Luke will soon be 24 and is a computer programmer. He finished his Bachelor's degree last year. He is researching graduate programs and plans to attend one soon. 

Tell us about your position at KentuckyCare…

I am a nurse practitioner primarily practicing at the Paducah Southside location.  I have been here since it opened in March 2014. I see patients of all ages with a wide variety of illnesses.  I like to perform some procedures such as laceration repairs and draining abscesses. I enjoy being a preceptor for nurse practitioner students and watching them grow in their knowledge and skills.

How long have you been a nurse?  When did you become a nurse practitioner? 

I have been a registered nurse since 1989. I graduated from Murray State University with a BSN degree. I received my MSN and Family Nurse Practitioner training in 1997 at Belmont University in Nashville, Tennessee. Later, I returned and received a Master’s in Business Administration in 2014. I have been accepted into the Doctorate of Nursing Practice program at Murray State University and will start in August 2017.

Where did you work before KentuckyCare?

I worked at a primary care clinic in Draffenville when I completed my APRN training spent 13 years working in the Emergency Room at Lourdes Hospital as an APRN. Then I worked as Director of Emergency Room at Murray-Calloway County Hospital just prior to coming to KentuckyCare.

What is the best part of your job?  What is the hardest?

The best part of my job is seeing those individuals who have not had healthcare due to either lack of insurance or financial resources and feeling that I am helping them to take better care of themselves. I believe that it helps them to know that someone does care. 

The hardest part of my job is all the red tape that we must weed through to get our patients the care that they need. The government has made this part of our job a lot more difficult. So much of our time is taken away from the patient to complete the paperwork for the insurance companies. 

What do you like to do in your free time?

I am a bit of a gym rat. I like going to the gym daily if possible and exercising. I feel like it helps me to resolve stress and in turn makes me feel better. Additionally, I like spending time with my family and friends. I always jump at the opportunity to meet up with either one of my kids for a meal and learn what's going on in their life that week. 

I also like cars - new and old. I think it’s amazing how they have changed cars from when I was a child to how they are built today. I can walk around car shows or automobile museums for hours. 

What car have you loved the most? What do you drive these days? 

My favorite car was my very first car.  It was a 1973 Monte Carlo.  It has air shocks on the rear and looked like a muscle car.  It had a large V8 engine and looked sharp.  Now, I drive a BMW.  I like the sporty design, handling, and all the gadgets. 

If you were trapped on an island, what possessions would you take with you?

I definitely would want a picture of my kids so I would always have them close to my heart. 

I have my mother's bible where she would write her thoughts. I would like the opportunity to read what she thought about life and its meaning. My mother was someone very special to me and it was a difficult time when she passed away three years ago. 

The final thing would be sunscreen.  I am very pale and get sunburn in the shade!

What is your spirit animal?

I really admire the Eagle. They are upheld for their beauty and courage. They are excellent hunters and know how to survive. 

The best piece of advice that you have ever received?

I guess when I really realized how true this statement is: ”It is not any of my business what someone else thinks of me.” I used to worry about presentation because I want others to see me as someone who cared and as being good person.  Through the years, I have come to realize that people are going to think what they want to think of me. I know that I am a good person and do my best to help others.

It was a pleasure to meet you on iLove KentuckyCare this week, Greg. We’ll be sure to day “Hi” when we see you at a KentuckyCare clinic.

 


This article is paid advertising & the information contained therein is provided by the featured individual or business. They are solely responsible for its accuracy.